19/2/2016

I believed in God for half an hour,
notion sparked as the soundtrack swelled,
and as the words bounced like beach balls
off the walls of a Georgia church hall
with my legs pressed tightly
against the seat in front of my atheist knees.

Maybe, just maybe, someone was listening
as Cassandra sang her song in falsetto.
Perhaps the science settled in my mind as fact
was disguising a fact I’d always considered fiction.
I mumbled a half-hearted prayer and sat,
waiting there for some sort of answer.
Nothing.

Then we left, and on the ride home
to a half-empty University dorm my phone
told me that Lucy had passed away earlier that day,
and god was gone for good.

Columbus, March 2016

Leave a Reply

